IFCO 可持续发展处于我们业务实践的核心

IFCO 是可循环塑料箱 (RPC) 领域的全球领导者,为降低成本和保护环境提供众多益处。我们对可持续发展的承诺不仅限于我们的可循环塑料箱。我们的使命是运营一间高效且有盈利的公司,同时承担我们对环境、人类和与我们有关系之社区的责任。我们将此愿景置于我们业务实践的核心。

在 IFCO,我们将可持续发展看作包含我们所做一切的理念。盈利性和道德责任不一定势不两立 —— 而且我们旨在成为引路者,来证明这一点并展示如何做到。

可持续发展的先行者

IFCO 是全球第一家引领可循环塑料箱的企业,这一历史可追溯回 1990 年度早期,而今天,我们仍在坚持创新。IFCO 的 SmartCycle™ 流程可确保绿色实践 —— 从能源节约到浪费减少,从清洗中心的水循环再用到使用旧塑料箱制造新塑料箱。可持续发展对我们所有人都很重要。让我们一起保护重要的东西!

我们的可持续方式 – 3E

我们的可持续方式基于三大支柱

环境

通过减少浪费、排放物和用水量保护自然资源,同时帮助客户以更环保的方式工作

员工

赋能予我们的工作人员,让他们能在更安全的工作场所采取环保实践并支持其生活和工作所在的社区

参与

通过向食品银行和其他慈善机构捐赠资金和数千个可循环塑料箱 ,为我们工作所在的社区做出实际贡献

保护环境

IFCO 可循环塑料箱和 SmartCycle™ 流程共同构成我们循环经济的基础,可以使所有各方收益 —— 从生产商和零售商到消费者和自然环境。SmartCycle™ 是一个复杂精巧的物流流程,IFCO 用它来管理整个供应链。

用于共享的可循环塑料箱本身就具有可持续性,因为它们是可共享和重复使用的设备。因此,与一次性包装相比,我们的可循环塑料箱使用更少的自然资源,从而能够保护环境。在整个生命周期内,这些箱子会得到妥善维护以维持高性能,每个箱子平均可使用 100 次。一旦破损,它们便会得到修理或被磨成颗粒后用于制造新的可循环塑料箱,从而确保减少流入海洋和自然环境中的塑料。

与一次性包装相比,IFCO 可循环塑料箱可降低高达 60% 的二氧化碳和高达 86% 的固体废弃物排放量,同时其耗能可降低 64%,用水量减少 80%。1 它们还可将产品损坏率降低 96% 以上,从而大大减少食物浪费。

减少食物浪费

IFCO 可循环塑料箱可大幅减少食物浪费:与一次性包装相比,包装于塑料箱中的生鲜产品的受损率可降低 96%。这对生产商、零售商和环境都有益!

而且,通过 IFCO 可循环塑料箱运输的生鲜食品可最多将新鲜度延长 4 天,该结论来自由 Dr. Lippert Quality Management. 代表 IFCO 进行的一项近期调查。3 我们的可循环塑料箱采用充分的通风和坚固设计,可延长生鲜食品的货架期。

为所有方提供可持续性益处,IFCO 针对零售商和生产商的可持续性证书

为鼓励客户跟随我们的可持续性实践,IFCO 推出了年度可持续性证书。我们为每位客户计算出其节省的能源和资源,并为其发放一本证书,上面列明他们通过在供应链上使用 IFCO 可循环塑料箱而节约的二氧化碳、水、能源、固体废弃物的数量。

通过这种方式,IFCO 也是在为零售商和生产商的环保形象增添光彩。为回应大众关心并遵循新的欧洲法规,大型超市和生产商在过去几年均减少了浪费。通过使用我们的可循环塑料箱,零售商不仅能获得上述所有益处,还能将消费者对日常杂货的选购转换为具可持续性和慎重的体验。

我们的 “Zero Harm” 计划

IFCO 参与了一个旨在于所有业务领域达到 "Zero Harm" 的持续发展计划:环境、人、公司。 .

阅读更多

员工 – 可持续发展从自我做起

要想在全球宣传我们的生态努力,最好的渠道莫过于我们的员工。我们的所有位员工均已接受可持续性业务实践的培训。例如,在我们的办公室不会看到一次性水杯、餐具或塑料瓶。我们还尽量避免长途商务旅行以及不必要的打印。

我们也会照顾我们的员工,为其提供进一步的教育、培训和个人发展计划。

在劳动力安全和供应商多样化方面,我们遵守全球最高标准,并根据当地实情灵活执行。IFCO 全球所有的子公司均致力于多样化。 我们认为,具备参与度、安全度、包容性和多样性的工作场所能让我们的员工更好地发挥,并为可持续发展以及对 IFCO 作为一家管理良好的企业带来额外的贡献。

社会参与:从捐助到员工志愿者

我们深知好的供应链会服务于我们所有人。不仅仅是 IFCO 和我们的客户,还有我们运营所在的社区。这就是为什么我们总是参与社会和慈善活动。

在过去十年间,IFCO 向全世界的食品银行捐赠了超过 28 万个可循环塑料箱。我们还联合捐赠了冷藏车,目的是帮助这些组织确保所运送食物的新鲜度。IFCO 的附属公司经常向当地慈善机构和人权组织进行财务捐赠,帮助他们向有需要的人士提供食物。

我们的参与不仅体现在捐赠钱款和可循环塑料箱上,我们还会奉献自己的时间。我们的所有员工每年均享有三天的带薪假期,可将之用于参加食品银行等当地组织的志愿者活动,收集或配送生鲜产品和包装食品。

IFCO Sustainability, at the heart of our business practices

IFCO is a world leader in Reusable Plastic Containers (RPCs) that offer multiple cost and environmental benefits. Our commitment to sustainability reaches way beyond our RPCs. Our mission is to run an efficient and profitable company – without compromising our responsibilities to the environment, the people and the communities we deal with. We place this vision at the center of our business practices.

At IFCO, we see sustainability as a concept that encompasses everything we do. Profitability and moral responsibility do not have to be mutually exclusive – and we intend to be a leading light in proving this and showing how it can be achieved.

A pioneer in sustainability

IFCO was the world’s first company to pioneer reusable plastic containers back in the early 90s – and we continue to innovate today. The IFCO SmartCycle™ ensures green practices ranging from energy savings to waste reduction and from water recycling in our wash centers to making new crates from old ones. Sustainability is important to us all. Let’s protect the things that matter!

Our sustainability approach – the three Es

Our approach to sustainability is based on three pillars

Environment

Protecting natural resources by reducing waste, emissions and water use, while helping customers work more greenly

Employees

Enabling our staff to adopt green practices in a safe workspace and support the communities they live and work in

Engagement

Making a tangible contribution to the communities we work in by donating money and thousands of RPCs to food banks and other charities

Protecting the environment

IFCO RPCs and the SmartCycle™ form the foundation of a circular economy that benefits everyone – from producers and retailers to consumers and the natural environment. The SmartCycle™ is a sophisticated logistics process that IFCO uses to manage the whole supply chain.

Pooled RPCs are inherently sustainable because they allow for the sharing and reusing of equipment. Therefore, our RPCs use fewer natural resources than single-use packaging, protecting the environment. They are maintained for consistently high performance throughout their lifetimes and last for 100 cycles on average. However, if they do break, they are either repaired or granulated and made into new RPCs, ensuring that less plastic ends up in our oceans and the natural environment.

Compared with single-use packaging, IFCO RPCs produce up to 60% less CO2 emissions and 86% less solid waste, while using 64% less energy and 80% less water. They also reduce product damage by over 96%, drastically cutting down on food waste.

Reducing food waste

IFCO RPCs deliver a dramatic reduction in food waste – there is 96% less damage to fresh produce packed in a plastic crate compared to single-use packaging. That is good for producers and retailers as well as the environment!

Also, fresh foods transported in IFCO RPCs stay fresher for up to four days longer, according to a recent study conducted for IFCO by Dr. Lippert Quality Management. The optimized ventilation and robust design of our RPCs contribute to a longer shelf life of fresh foods.

Sustainable benefits for everyone, IFCO’s Sustainability Certificate for retailers and producers

To encourage our customers to follow suit with our sustainable practices, IFCO introduced its annual sustainability certificate. We calculate energy and resource savings for each customer and send them a certificate highlighting the amount of CO2, water, energy, solid waste and food waste they have saved by utilizing IFCO RPCs in their supply chain.

This way, IFCO also contributes to a greener image of retailers and producers. Supermarkets and producers alike have been reducing waste over the past years to appease public concerns and to be consistent with new European regulation. By using our RPCs, retailers not only profit from all the benefits mentioned above, they also turn grocery shopping into a sustainable and conscious experience for consumers.

Our Zero Harm program

IFCO is part of a continuous improvement program that aims to achieve Zero Harm in all our business areas: environment, people, company. .

learn more

Employees – Sustainability starts with ourselves

What better way to radiate our eco-credentials in the world than with our own people? All of our employees are trained in sustainable business practices. For example, you won’t see any disposable cups, cutlery or single-use plastic bottles in our offices. And we work hard to avoid long-distance business trips as well as unnecessary printing.

We look after our people too – with further education, training and individual development plans.

We adhere to the highest global standards in workforce safety and supplier diversity, with flexible local execution. IFCO is committed to diversity throughout its global network of subsidiaries. We believe that an engaging, safe, tolerant and diverse workplace brings out the best in our people and makes an additional contribution to sustainability, as well as to IFCO as a well-managed business.

Social engagement: from donations to employee volunteering

We know that a better supply chain serves us all. Not just IFCO and its customers, but the communities we operate in too. That’s why we have always been involved in social and charitable initiatives.

IFCO has donated over 280,000 RPCs to food banks around the world over the last ten years. We also co-finance refrigerated vans to help these organizations ensure the food they distribute stays fresh. IFCO subsidiaries often make financial donations to local charities and humanitarian organizations providing food to people in need.

Our engagement goes beyond donations of money and RPCs – we give our time too. Each of our employees is given three paid days a year that they use to volunteer in local organizations such as food banks, collecting or distributing fresh and packaged food.